Annual Conference

Annual Conference

NADOHE Announces 2024 Inclusive Excellence Award Winners

March 18, 2024

The National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE) celebrates individuals and institutions for their exemplary achievements and contributions to lead higher education toward inclusive excellence. Each year, nominations for the Inclusive Excellence Awards are submitted on behalf of higher education administrators, scholars and institutions who are leaders in the study of diversity by means of research, leadership and service. 

NADOHE announced the 2024 Inclusive Excellence Award winners during its recent Annual Conference in Seattle, Washington. Winners include:

  • Dr. Frank W. Hale, Jr., Distinguished Service Award: Dr. LaToya Smith, University of Texas at Austin
  • Higher Education Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Award: Dante King, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, Dante King Consulting and King of Kings Consulting, LLC
  • Individual Leadership Award: Dr. Marsha Currin McGriff, University of Florida
  • Rising Star Award: Dr. Karen Thomas-Brown, University of Washington
  • Institutional Excellence Award, Four-Year Institution: George Mason University
  • Institutional Excellence Award, Four-Year Private Institution: University of Tampa
  • Institutional Excellence Award, Professional Degree Granting Institution: Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
  • Institutional Excellence Award, Two-Year Institution: Harper College
  • Outstanding Dissertation Award: Dr. Amy C. Wang, Lewis and Clark College
  • Corporate Excellence Award: EPAM Systems
  • Community-Based Non-Profit Organization Award: Urban League of Metropolitan Seattle

“I am honored to present this year’s Inclusive Excellence Award winners on behalf of NADOHE,” said Paulette Granberry Russell, J.D., president and CEO of NADOHE. “During an exceptional time for those who engage in and advocate for diversity, equity, and inclusion work, it is especially important to celebrate commitments to transform higher education so that all may succeed and thrive.”

The deadline to submit 2025 Inclusive Excellence Award nominations will be announced later this year. More information on the awards and previous winners is available at  


The National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE) is the preeminent voice for chief diversity officers. As the leader of the national conversation on diversity, equity, and inclusion, it investigates, influences, and innovates to transform higher education so that inclusive excellence lives at its core.

Awards History

About the Awards