Our Leadership

Our Leadership

Board of Directors

NADOHE's Board of Directors guides the organization as it executes its mission to lead higher education towards inclusive excellence. Five members serve as executive officers, and 13 additional members serve on the board. The Board includes three ex-officio members. Learn more about the Board of Directors here.

For NADOHE media inquiries, please email pr@nadohe.org. For other questions related to NADOHE, please email info@nadohe.org.


Paulette Granberry Russell, J.D., was elected president of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education in March 2020. Granberry Russell is a leading national voice and sought-after presenter on issues related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice in higher education and beyond. 

Her research interests include gender equity in STEM, campus culture and its impact on marginalized communities, and strategies for dismantling structural racism to create more equitable experiences for faculty, students, and staff of color. Granberry Russell has given presentations and advised institutions and NGOs in countries across Africa and in the U.K. on gender equity, affirmative action, implicit bias and discrimination, strategic diversity initiatives, and inclusive leadership.

Granberry Russell retired in August 2020 from Michigan State University as senior advisor to the president for diversity, emerita. She first joined MSU in 1998 as its senior diversity officer and later worked as director of the Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives. As MSU’s senior diversity officer, Granberry Russell was responsible for leading and facilitating MSU’s efforts to advance a more equitable and inclusive campus community. She developed cutting-edge education and development programs, led campus climate surveys (quantitative and qualitative), monitored university efforts to increase diversity among students, faculty, and staff, coordinated community outreach efforts, and incentivized innovative DEI strategies through the office’s Creating Inclusive Excellence Grants. 

Granberry Russell received her Bachelor of Arts degree from Michigan State University (MSU) and her Juris Doctor from Thomas M. Cooley Law School. She is a licensed attorney with the State of Michigan. 

Read more about President Paulette Granberry Russell.


The work of our organization depends on the expertise and efforts of our talented membership. We invite you to deepen your involvement with NADOHE by joining one of our committees. To join a committee, please contact the committee chair or Debra Nolan at dnolan@nadohe.org.


The Advancement Committee facilitates fund raising efforts in order to advance special projects and other work consistent with the association's mission.

Co-Chairs: Ricardo Nazario-Colón and Jason F. Kirksey


The Awards Committee annually solicits and reviews nominations for NADOHE awards and collaboratively selects awardees.

Co-Chairs: Tonya Bailey and James Felton


The Bylaws Committee reviews the Bylaws of the Association and recommends necessary changes to the Board of Directors. Any changes in the Bylaws recommended by the Committee must be approved by a majority vote of the Board of Directors before submission to the membership during the Association's annual business meeting for ratification.

Co-Chairs: Joanne Woodard and Caroline Laguerre-Brown


The Conference Committee meets electronically for approximately eight months to plan and coordinate NADOHE's Annual Conference.  All committee members must also be available to play an active role in sub-committees.

Co-Chairs: Jeanne Arnold and Rich Salas


The Finance Committee ensures compliance with the Association’s Financial Policies and Procedures, reviews investment options and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors, and monitors the Reserve Fund balance. 

Chair: Rich Salas

Global Engagement

The Global Engagement Committee reviews and suggests international opportunities and programs for NADOHE members and seeks to expand awareness and opportunities for international collaboration.

Chair: Annette Hay 


The Membership Committee seeks to expand the institutional and individual membership of NADOHE.  The committee will work with the national Administrative Executive, the Treasurer, and Marketing Committee to grow NADOHE into a nationwide membership-based association.  The committee conducts its business via electronic media, including conference calls.

Chair: Tamara Stevenson

Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee implements the annual Board of Directors nominations and the biannual Officers elections in a transparent, inclusive, and timely manner, consistent with the NADOHE Bylaws. 

Chair: LaKesha Alston Forbes

Professional Development

The Professional Development Committee is dedicated to the identification of dynamic and relevant programming that promotes both the individual and institutional advancement of NADOHE's membership.

Co-Chairs: Clyde Pickett and Andristine Robinson

Public Policy

The Public Policy Committee of NADOHE is charged with reviewing federal and state policies that impact diversity and equity in higher education.

Co-Chairs: Nicole Stokes and Chris Whitt

Strategic Plan

The Strategic Planning Committee monitors strategic plan implementation and facilitates the development of future strategic plans.

Chair: Lisa Givan and Joanne Woodard