Congratulations to all graduates of the 2021 NADOHE Standards of Professional Practice Institute (SPPI)!

2022 SPPI info will soon be available.



NADOHE’s 2019 SPPI was the most relevant, affirming, and comprehensive professional development experience for diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) professionals that I have attended. The experienced faculty were practitioners and scholars. They created the conditions for the participants to dialogue about their professional practice and the skills needed to be an effective DEI practitioner. I emerged from the Institute better prepared to lead impactful DEI initiatives and connected to a new network of institutional changemakers. ~Renée Smith-Maddox, Ph.D., Diversity Liaison Officer, University of Southern California, Dworak-Peck School of Social Work

SPPI Video Testimonials

About 2021 SPPI Virtual
The 2021 SPPI experience will be virtual yet powerful! Featured will be the NADOHE Standards of Professional Practice for CDOs in Higher Education, 2.0. This unparalleled program is designed to prepare the next generation of research and practice based diversity higher education leaders to become proficient in the Standards of Professional Practice for Chief Diversity Officers in Higher Education. The Standards of Professional Practice Institute (SPPI) is modeled after other proven and respected professional development programs in higher education. Each day is structured to focus on one or more of the standards of professional practice and will be led by faculty that have served as a college or university chief diversity officer or senior administrator and/or who are leading experts in this field. The virtual component of this experience will take place on the Zoom platform.

The 2021 SPPI experience will include a final session/graduation culminating at the 2022 conference, Tuesday, March 15, 2022, San Diego.

2021 SPPI Virtual Schedule 
November 3, 2021
4:00 - 7:00pm, EST 
November 17, 2021
4:00 - 5:30pm, EST
December 1, 2021
4:00 - 7:00pm, EST 
December 15, 2021
4:00 - 5:30pm, EST
January 5, 2022
4:00 - 7:00pm, EST 
January 19, 2022
4:00 - 5:30pm, EST
February 2, 2022
4:00 - 7:00pm, EST 
February 16, 2022
4:00 - 5:30pm, EST
March 2, 2022
4:00 - 7:00pm, EST 
March 15, 2022
2022 Annual Conference in San Diego, CA


PAST SPPI Virtual Partial Faculty List

・Yvette M. Alex-Assensoh, Ph.D., J.D.
    Vice President for Equity and Inclusion, 
University of Oregon

Rusty Barcelo, Ph.D.
    Higher Education Equity & Diversity Consultant

Archie Ervin, Ph.D.
    Vice President, Institute Diversity, Georgia Institute of Technology

Paulette Granberry Russell, J.D.
    Senior Advisor to the President for Diversity (Retired), Michigan State University

Dr. Merrill Irving Jr.
    President,  Hennepin Technical College 

Caroline Laguerre-Brown, J.D.
    Vice Provost for Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement, The George Washington University

Kevin McDonald, J.D.
    Vice President for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Community Partnerships, University of Virginia

Elizabeth Ortiz, Ed.D.
    Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity, Depaul University

Benjamin Reese, Jr. PsyD
    President, BenReese, LLC
    Former Vice President, Office for Institutional Equity at Duke University and Duke University Health System

Robert M. Sellers, Ph.D.
    Vice Provost for Equity & Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer, University of Michigan

Anneliese Singh, Ph.D.
    Associate Provost for Diversity and Faculty Development, Tulane University

Daryl G. Smith, Ph.D.
    Senior Research Fellow and Professor Emerita of Education and Psychology, Claremont Graduate University

Clyde Wilson Pickett, Ed.D.
    Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, University of Pittsburgh

Roger L. Worthington, Ph.D.
    Executive Director, Center for Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education, University of Maryland, College Park